The boy who cried wolf

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t go to bed early, but I do enjoy sleeping at night. When living in Harrow Halls of residence, this isn’t the easiest of things to do.

The deafening, piercing tones of the fire alarm at 3am yesterday morning, left me extremely angry… considering the fact that it seemed to start as soon as my head hit the pillow.

It wasn’t just the once that this alarm went off. Four times in an hour, the dulcet tones left me ramming a pillow against my ear… And it wasn’t just my block of halls.

When checking Facebook, I found the generic status of ‘Piss off Halls internet’. This was more than just the one status as well. I read about five to six complaints about the alarm, from all across different blocks.

Why do they do this to us? Why do they charge us so much money for a lack of sleep?

The fire alarm seems to be one of the most common memories of my time of living in Halls and seems to be a bi-weekly experience. It reminds me of the story of the boy who cried wolf and… it has worked.

Not one student ever leaves the building when the alarm rings, effectively meaning a real fire would end up in tragedy. How have the staff running the Halls managed to let the alarms get this regular. It is grossly negligent on their behalf to allow the state of the alarms to get this bad and forbid that tragedy should strike… they will be responsible.

I suggest that maybe they slightly turn down the sensitivity of the detectors so that the alarm can’t be set off from such a ridiculous thing as steam from a shower…

Leave a Reply

