Audio Journalism: critical evaluation

For Audio Journalism, I created a two-minute interview and a three-minute podcast.

My interview featured around an aspiring musician at the University of Westminster. I interviewed Commercial Music Performance student Ben Goold about his skills in music and how he thinks he may fit into the industry. Knowing my subjects performing skills, I asked him to play the chorus of his latest song. This, hopefully, made my work more interesting for the listeners.

I wanted to interview an interesting person, about a subject that I knew little about, to further my knowledge in a field I’m not one hundred percent confident in. Taking myself out of my comfort zone, made me feel better about the success of the final product.

I think that both myself and my interviewer offered clear answers that made my project much more successful. However, I struggled to use the editing software Audacity. After toiling away attempting to edit on the programme, I decided to change to Final Cut Pro. Having prior experience with similar software, it was much more successful. My interview could have been more successful if I had bedded the piano track underneath Bens introduction to the track.

For my podcast, I decided to investigate public opinion into the state of journalism. This was inspired by a friend of mine who, upon hearing I was entering the profession of journalism, decided to criticise my choice of career and call me a series of abusive names. This made me think that I should investigate what the public thought of journalists and why they thought this way.

I structured my podcast, beginning with a monologue, using a series of vox pops about the state of journalism and ended with an expert interview with former professional Patrick Stoddart. This expert interview firmed up some ideas about the state of journalism today for me and the listener. I once again edited the project on Final Cut Pro.

One of the biggest disappointments for me, was having to severely cut down the interview with Patrick Stoddart. The interview I conducted lasted fifteen minutes, but had to be cut to less than two minutes.

I think that my work in the audio section of this course was one of my most successful and is the work I am most proud of. It was by no means perfect work, but considering radio was possibly my least favourite aspect of journalism before the course began, I believe it was a success.

 

Leave a Reply

