Video Journalism: Critical Evaluation

For my video journalism project, I decided to make a three-minute documentary. Firstly, I had to choose a topic for this documentary.

With little inspiration, I listed my interests as I thought I could make a documentary about a topic I love. Appearing high up on my list was football. Rather than just asking people why they loved football, I decided to take a more journalistic approach and investigate the issue of football hooliganism.

I thought that hooliganism is over-exaggerated in the media and the issue isn’t anywhere near as important as the media make out. I wanted to hear what fans thought about the issue themselves and how the media and hit films portray football fans.

I filmed the majority of my documentary outside The Valley, Charlton Athletics stadium, on a match day. I got vox pops from fans around the stadium. I wanted to portray a sense of calm from around the stadium just hours before a match. I achieved this by filming the quiet scenes from outside the stadium. This helped me form a counterintuitive feel to my work.

One of the biggest problems that I faced during the entire process, was dealing with low-quality YouTube videos for a montage of football moments. The quality was so poor, it was almost un-watchable. I decided to overcome this problem by utilising some skills I had on Final Cut Pro. I put a white slug underneath the video, used a picture of a television and placed the low quality video into the television screen, as if being watched on the television. I used the Match of  the Day theme tune to give the football montage an upbeat feel.

Overall, I feel that my documentary wasn’t up to a standard I thought it should have been. With restrictions of where I could film around the stadium, it was difficult to get cut away footage. The quality of my interviews were acceptable, but not the best interviews ever. I think that my project conveyed the message I wanted too, but wasn’t as strong as it should have been. The most disappointing part was my piece-to-camera, where I feel I was wooden in my delivery of the monologue.

Leave a Reply

