One and a Half Men are once again Two and a Half!

Kutcher as "Jesse" in "Dude, Where's my car?". Courtesy of ew.com

Since Charlie Sheen was sacked from the hit sitcom Two and a Half Men back in February 2011, there has been constant speculation as to the future of the EMMY award-winning sitcom. The rumour mill has been spinning and it was recently announced that the show would once again run, without Sheen as the show’s lead.

The show’s creator, Chuck Lorre and CBS today officially announced the replacement to Sheen, Hollywood star Ashton Kutcher. Ashton Kutcher is the star of films “Dude, Where’s my Car?”, “What Happened in Vegas” and TV show “That 70’s show”.

Kutcher said “I can’t wait to get to work with this ridiculously talented 2.5 team and I believe we can fill the stage with laughter that will echo in viewers’ homes, I can’t replace Charlie Sheen but I’m going to work my ass off to entertain the hell out of people!”

“We are so lucky to have someone as talented, joyful and just plain remarkable as Ashton joining our family,” said Chuck Lorre, creator and executive producer of the show. “Added to that is the deep sigh of relief knowing that our family stays together. If I was any happier, it’d be illegal.”

Sheen was sacked after a bust up with creator Chuck Lorre and co-star Jon Cryer, where he referred to the actor who plays Alan as “a goblin”. Lorre responded by sacking Sheen from the show, after he had already delayed shooting for Sheen to recover from his drug problem.

Despite being a huge fan of the show, I am not convinced whether the show should continue without Sheen. I thought Sheen was great as Charlie Harper, but he didn’t have to act much. He played himself, not a tricky role. I believe that Cryer’s performance as the neurotic Alan is far superior.

Despite this, I’m not sure that Kutcher is what the show needs to reinvent itself. Should the show bow out on a high? Or is Kutcher what the show needs to continue as a success?

What do you think? Have your say on all the usual places, Facebook, Twitter @naspearing and on the blog itself. Also, read the official press release right here

.

2 thoughts on “One and a Half Men are once again Two and a Half!

  1. I know it is sad that the first blog I comment on is regarding an inane show for which I can see no attraction. You & Jono are very different, but he also enjoys this programme yet I could never see the appeal. For me, I wish the programme had died with Charlie Sheen’s departure. However……….anything starring Ashton Kutcher is worth giving a go!!

Leave a Reply

