Desert Island Discs

I am writing this post in direct response to a YouTube video. The vlogger TheTommyMalone, who happens to be a friend of mine, posted today his Desert Island discs (link to the original video) and called for his fellow vloggers and bloggers to respond with their own Desert Island discs. So, here I am, replying with my Desert Island discs. I have selected the eight songs I would take to a desert island with me and the reasons why. (Click the headings for YouTube links)

1. The Killers- Mr Brightside (2004)

This will not be a surprise for most of you. The Killers are my favourite band and this is the song that got me interested in their music. Hearing this song and the album Hot Fuss actually revolutionised my music taste. I was 12 when this song was released, so had always been a sheep with music, liking the music that my friends decided was ‘good’ (despite the fact it was terrible). So yeah, this song is responsible for my iTunes taking the shape it has and is possibly the greatest song of the 21st Century.

2. 30 Seconds to Mars- Kings and Queens (2009)

Despite the fact that lead singer Jared Leto is very arrogant, I can’t help but love 30 Seconds to Mars. This song was my most played on iTunes, before retiring my old laptop. Just the ‘epic-ness’ of the song makes it amazing. Perfect for singing at the top of your lungs, this song would certainly give an epic feel to the desert island and would start the day off perfectly.  It reminds me of my favourite football team Southampton winning a cup at Wembley Stadium as this was the intro music they played.

 

Suggs, Madness frontman. Courtesy of Flikr

3. Madness- One Step Beyond (1979)

Perhaps the most abrupt start to a song ever, Madness’ great ska sound just puts me in a great mood. It is impossible to be unhappy doing a ska dance to Suggs and the gang. I don’t know anything technical about music, but I do know this makes me happy and genuinely makes me want to get off my seat and dance around (it takes a lot to do that!)

4. R.E.M- Stand (1988)

Another song with a great intro. Michael Stipe’s vocals are amazing, a great guitar solo in the middle, just a great song. I could have picked any R.E.M song as they are all excellent. This song and specifically the album ‘In Time’ remind me of long drives to the Alps when I was young, as my dad had control of the CD’s. I grew to love all their work and now I find the chilled out music is perfect for listening to while writing an essay.

5. Huey Lewis and the News- The Power of Love (1985)

A very famous song that is mostly known for its use in the truly magnificent film, Back to the Future. As one of my favourite films ever, I found myself falling in love with this song. Every time I hear this song I picture Marty McFly skateboarding to school and, as all of these songs do, put a smile on my face. As I’m not allowed to take the film to the island with me, this song will have to do.

6. Blink-182 – I Miss You (2003)

Quite simply, I would miss people on a desert island so this song is perfect. Blink are a band that have grown on me a lot over the last few years and now I find myself being a genuine fan. The mix of vocals, from the whiney voice of Tom DeLonge to the deeper tones of Mark Hoppus compliment each other perfectly to make a truly great song.

7. The Eagles- Hotel California (1977)

When I hear this song, I picture myself cruising along in a convertible across the deserts of California, so it would be suited perfectly to a desert island. It’s a song that just chills me out so would be great for chilling under a palm tree. The RDM cover of this song featuring the Killers reignited my love for the song. The Eagles have history in my family as they were my Grandad’s favourite band.

 

Jimmy Eat World frontman Jim Adkins. Courtesy of Flikr

8. Jimmy Eat World- The Middle (2001)

I first discovered this song while playing guitar hero many years ago and ever since I have considered it as one of my favourite songs. With meaningful lyrics and catchy guitar riffs, this song is just awesome. I don’t know how else to describe it.

I know I’m supposed to be writing about a book and a luxury item but I was only really interested in talking about my eight songs so I’m going to end it here. Check out TheTommyMalone, watch and subscribe to him on YouTube.

As he did, I extend the invitation to any vloggers or bloggers who want to take up the Desert Island Discs challenge, then comment below or on Twitter @naspearing. If you have any abuse to dish out for my song choices then comment or tweet…

 

Leave a Reply

